Illinois Department of Agriculture

Phone: (217) 785-8308
Fax: (217) 524-7801
Primary Contact: Joe Small

801 E. Sangamon Avenue
Springfield, IL 62702

Mailing Address
PO Box 19281
Springfield, IL 62794

About the Association

Association of Grain Regulatory Officials (AGRO) is a service organization of people dedicated to serving state, federal and provincial governments, warehousemen and producers alike in the advancement of good relations. Giant strides forward have been made by this organization since its inception in 1939. Mr. Scott S. Bateman, Kansas, and Mr. Turner Morton, Missouri, were originators of the organization. They wrote letters to all states informing them of the first meeting to be held in Minneapolis, Minnesota, October 1 and 2, 1939.

The Association was first named the National Association of State Licensed Warehouse Departments. Later the Association was renamed the Association of American Warehouse Control Officials (AAWCO). In July of 2009, the Association adopted the name, Association of Grain Regulatory Officials. The name changes were to reflect the Associations growing scope of membership and the member’s regulatory duties.